RSS

2013: My Blog Writing Rookie Year

18 Dec

I’ve never kept a diary or journal before and I’ve never been one to write on a regular basis, let alone make it publicly available on the internet. If you had told me in April (when I posted for the first time) that I would have written 26 posts by the end of the year I probably would have laughed and said “I don’t think I’ve got that much to say”. But, by taking the time to reflect on my experiences and document what I’ve learned along the way, it turned out that I had a bit to say after all.

I’ve found that writing this blog has helped me organise my thinking on a number of different topic areas (motivation, gamification, instructional design, cognitive architecture and PLNs) and the feedback and comments I’ve received have both challenged and consolidated my ideas, so I’m all the better for both. Its also helped me to become a better writer – although I’ve still much to learn.

My top posts for the year based on views are:

  1. Letting go of Learning Styles
  2. Integrating Motivation with Instructional Design
  3. Working with Cognitive Load
  4. Video Games and Motivation
  5. 25 Tips for Successful Online Facilitation

2013

I’d like to thank everyone who has read, commented on or shared any of my posts throughout the year. It means a lot that people have found a post personally useful or thought it was worth sharing with others who may find some value in it.

In trying to improve my writing and also to learn from others in the field, I started reading and subscribing to other blogs – another first for me. There’s a lot going on in the learning field and there are plenty of different perspectives that shine through from the blogs I read. While I don’t believe that there are necessarily good blogs and bad blogs as every writer has their own unique style and point of view, the following posts (in no particular order) were memorable to me as I think back over the year:

Finally, I’ve been fortunate enough to interact, connect with and learn from many amazing learning and development people over the course of the year. Thank-you all for inspiring, challenging and supporting me during 2013.

Merry Christmas and cheers to a happy, healthy and educational 2014!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “2013: My Blog Writing Rookie Year

  1. tanyalau

    December 18, 2013 at 11:40 am

    Matt! There’s one other thing I’d like to add…you inspired me to start a blog too! Thanks for the inspiration, and it’s always good to read (and stalk…!) your posts! You have a well deserved break, and look forward to more next year 🙂 (can’t believe it’s already the end of the year….yikes! I still remember your first post!)

     
    • learningsnippets

      December 18, 2013 at 11:57 am

      Thanks Tanya! Cheers also for all your thoughtful comments during the year. I know what you mean, the year has just flown by! Hope you have a great Christmas and 2014. Looking forward to hearing more about your studies in the next year 🙂

       

Leave a comment

 
Learn. Show. Repeat.

Learn - Show - Repeat

Work Smarter Not Harder

Ask. Learn. Share | Mike Taylor's Weekly Tips & Tricks

LearnHaus

Knowledge is power and I intend to make us all powerful.

technologyinstructorblog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LearnKotch

L&D from a different perspective

Jackie Van Nice

E-Learning Goodness by Jackie Van Nice

Michelle Ockers

Continuously learning, and supporting others to learn

Ripple Effect Group

Digital Workplace Design

Learning Rebels

Lifting Learning in Workplaces Today

Learning as I go...

HR tech, learning tech, cricket and everything in between.

Activate Learning

Always Learning

Lost and Desperate

Random ramblings that might, or might not, relate to training, learning, development, and management

chat2lrn

Conversations to take learning forward

The Hitch Hiker's Guide to Learning

Tripping through the galaxy of Learning & Development

fuchsiablue

learning development change

Building Creative Bridges

Training Learning Collaboration Innovation

Gather with Purpose

intersection of community, learning and technology

Tayloring it...

A Web 2.0 newbie's effort at 'blogging' along with a rambling review of his work life in general...

Joanne Even's Blog

My journey through learning

Azhar's Reflections

Edu Journeys and Reflections

Julian Stodd's Learning Blog

A place to explore new ideas in Learning

Explorations in learning

-{narrating work to create learning}-

Thinking About Learning

Thoughts on all things learning and development

What Ed Said

A blog about learning