RSS

Game Elements for Learning: Week 2

19 Jul

ge4l

To be honest, I didn’t participate too much in the course this week. I did look through the readings though, and again there is a great variety of links and sources of information for participants, that cater for different areas of education.

There comes a point when you can only read so much information on a topic, then you need to start applying what you’ve learned about and give it a go on a real project. Obviously, I still don’t know everything there is to know about gamification but I reckon I know enough to start creating a module and I’m sure I’ll learn a lot more along the way. I’m keen to see examples of gamification being used in online learning, specifically workplace e-learning. I read a great post from Karl Kapp on The Gamification of Retail Safety and Loss Prevention Training in Learning Solutions magazine. I’d love to see more, so if you have any examples or know of any, please let me know.

I have a new module that I need to start working on for my organisation (I work in local government). The topic is our Code of Conduct – exciting stuff! It’s a compliance course and traditionally they are quite boring given the content. We don’t have an online course for this topic at the moment so while I’ve got a blank canvas to work with, I want this one to be different. We’ve also just purchased an Articulate Storyline licence (which I’m excited about) in which the module will be created.

What I intend to do is blog about the development of the course as it progresses and throw around some ideas in the process. I’m more than happy to take suggestions – I’m actually hoping to get them. It will be an example of showing my work, which is something else I want to do more of. I’ll be keen to receive feedback or ideas from you, in a collaborative kind of way as it goes along.

I’ll post more about this in the coming weeks!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 19, 2013 in Gamification, MOOC

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Game Elements for Learning: Week 2

  1. tanyalau

    July 19, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    Hello Matt, good idea re blogging about your latest project.
    I’ve worked on a couple of similar projects recently, so I’ve been thinking a bit about how to approach compliance projects too – mainly about ways to design and roll them out without making them ‘feel’ like flick & tick, checkbox compliance projects. Because that’s what seems to put a lot of people off them. You might be interested in this post by Clive Shepherd, discussing his ideas for creating compliance elearning http://clive-shepherd.blogspot.com.au/2013/07/how-i-would-approach-creating.html
    One of the things I suggested in my reply to his post was creating a series of mini scenarios, delivered over a period of time, rather than as one big course. And, having just read the Karl Kapp link that you posted above, this is actually the same type of idea presented by KK in example he describes – which he refers to as “distribued practice”. It’s actually something I seriously considered in my last compliance project (fraud & corruption) but didn’t implement, so I’d be quite interested to see the outcomes and how people respond to this type of approach – whether they see it as a positive and helping with reinforcement, or whether they in fact see it as more onerous than just having to do a single course.
    Perhaps the key to this approach is making it engaging and fun (and short!), so people want to do it, and look forward to the next installment.
    Look forward to seeing what other ideas emerge, and what you end up going with!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Learn. Show. Repeat.

Learn - Show - Repeat

John Stepper's Blog

Working Out Loud

Work Smarter Not Harder

Ask. Learn. Share | Mike Taylor's Weekly Tips & Tricks

LearnHaus

Knowledge is power and I intend to make us all powerful.

technologyinstructorblog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LearnKotch

L&D from a different perspective

coffeeanDesign

let's have coffee & discuss the design...

Jackie Van Nice

E-Learning Goodness by Jackie Van Nice

Michelle Ockers

Continuously learning, and supporting others to learn

The Knowledge Project

making e-Learning a better experience

Ripple Effect Group

Be smart. Get social. Do business.

Learning Rebels

Lifting Learning in Workplaces Today

Learning as I go...

Just another WordPress.com site

Activate Learning Solutions

Making Work into Learning Experiences

Lost and Desperate

Random ramblings that might, or might not, relate to training, learning, development, and management

chat2lrn

Conversations to take learning forward

Learning in the Modern Workplace

Jane Hart's blog on modernising workplace learning

ISPI's 50th Anniversary

Where Knowledge Becomes Know How

The Hitch Hiker's Guide to Learning

Tripping through the galaxy of Learning & Development

fuchsia blue

learning development change

The FreeFacilitator blog

Paul Batfay works out loud on facilitation, learning and community

Building Creative Bridges

Training Learning Collaboration Innovation

Learningcreep

A blog to take my learning forward.

Gather with Purpose

intersection of community, learning and technology

Joanne Even's Blog

My journey through learning

Azhar's Reflections

Edu Journeys and Reflections

